Page 1 of 2 12>
New Reply
Topic Options
#41519 - 06/14/09 03:28 PM Offers from "Publishers"
Marianne Offline
stranger


Registered: 06/13/08
Posts: 2
I recently received an offer from a "Publisher" to publish ebook novels to be sold on his yet undeveloped site. Like many of you, I'm sure, I get these offers all the time. Usually they're pretty obvious scams. As soon as I talk contracts, advances, residuels, etc. they want nothing more to do with me. I was just wondering, has anyone ever run across one of these publisher's that wasn't a ripoff?
Top Reply Reply Quote Quote Quick Reply Quick Reply Quick Quote Quick Quote
#41520 - 06/14/09 03:45 PM Re: Offers from "Publishers" [Re: Marianne]
Sextified Online   content
enthusiast


Registered: 08/18/08
Posts: 367
Please respond to this one guys/gals . . . I'm interested in this too.

Sextified

Top Reply Reply Quote Quote Quick Reply Quick Reply Quick Quote Quick Quote
#41606 - 06/25/09 04:55 AM Re: Offers from "Publishers" [Re: Marianne]
CharmBrights Offline
old hand


Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 879
Loc: Tirphil
OK, here goes.

Any publisher who wants any money from you at any point is ripping you off. I don't care if he calls it "Set-up", "advertising", "marketing" or whatever, it is a rip off.

I have had three publishers, one non-fiction and two erotica.
The non-fiction people sent me an advance, and then royalties on an agreed basis which was defined in the contract.
Both of the erotica publishers sent me terms and conditions statements and pay (paid) me agreed royalties at agreed intervals.

If you pay the publisher for anything, then that is how they make their money and they are less interested in selling your books. If they only make money when your books sell, then that is a big incentive to sell your books.

I won't tell you who the publishers were for two reasons:
A) I don't advertise on Art's web site,
B) I don't want to suggest you contact them without first satisfying myself that your writing is good enough.
_________________________
News of ALL my novels on charmbrights.webs.com/novels.htm.

Top Reply Reply Quote Quote Quick Reply Quick Reply Quick Quote Quick Quote
#41615 - 06/26/09 02:42 PM Re: Offers from "Publishers" [Re: CharmBrights]
moodcouple Offline
newbie


Registered: 07/26/05
Posts: 29
Loc: Arkansas Ozarks
I recently got an email similar to the one Marianne got. After checking out his website I wouldn't say he's a ripoff (no money was mentioned in his epistle)but I question his competence as a "publisher." All hype and very little product.

I've had similar experiences with individuals starting up new erotic fiction sites. I'm sure it seemed like a good idea to them at the time but . . . I'll stay right here where the webmaster knows what he's doing.

Top Reply Reply Quote Quote Quick Reply Quick Reply Quick Quote Quick Quote
#41619 - 06/26/09 09:27 PM Re: Offers from "Publishers" [Re: moodcouple]
Marianne Offline
stranger


Registered: 06/13/08
Posts: 2
Thanks for the responses.

CharmBrights, I here you when it comes to vanity press. This guy just wants writers to give him novels to publish as eBooks, no money up front, no contracts, just a promise to pay a percentage of the sale. I wrote him and told him what an amature boob I thought he was. He wrote back crying in his beer for impuning his integrity and insulting me. Thanks for confirming for me that professional publishers don't act that way.

moodcouple, I'll bet it was the same boob that wrote me. I think he's going down the list of authors on this site and contacting them if the story descriptions sound interesting. He's probably too cheap to buy a membership and actually read the stories before contacting the authors.

I agree about staying where we are. I'm having a ball writing and reading on this site. It's a hobby, damnit! I don't need any bozo's with false promises or unrealistic dreams spoiling my fun.

Top Reply Reply Quote Quote Quick Reply Quick Reply Quick Quote Quick Quote
#41621 - 06/28/09 03:06 PM Re: Offers from "Publishers" [Re: Marianne]
Jake Offline
addict


Registered: 02/27/01
Posts: 592
Loc: Northeastern US
I use an ebook publisher called Renaissance eBooks and they've never been anything but fair to me. There are no advances, but they pay royalties on a quarterly basis and I've always been paid by them. I will say two things about them: their covers are not good, and they almost always change my titles to something very obvious, but I am getting some money so those are only minor quibbles.
_________________________
Website: Jake's Wonderland
Twitter: JakeMarlowWrtr


Top Reply Reply Quote Quote Quick Reply Quick Reply Quick Quote Quick Quote
#41649 - 06/30/09 10:52 AM Re: Offers from "Publishers" [Re: Marianne]
Hunterguy Offline
member


Registered: 01/21/09
Posts: 166
 Originally Posted By: Marianne
I recently received an offer from a "Publisher" to publish ebook novels to be sold on his yet undeveloped site. Like many of you, I'm sure, I get these offers all the time. Usually they're pretty obvious scams. As soon as I talk contracts, advances, residuels, etc. they want nothing more to do with me. I was just wondering, has anyone ever run across one of these publisher's that wasn't a ripoff?


I too received an offer from this publisher. At first I entertained the idea of becoming involved with his site. However after reading some of what was posted I was not that impressed with his own writing skills. I am not saying that I any better it just seemed to me that if you are starting up a new site you want to have some pretty smoking hot books to keep people coming back, and I would say his/hers were fairly warm at best.

Being that this is a hobby I am not sure how much fun it would be if I had to meet deadlines and such, nor am I sure if there would be any deadlines from the site, that said I know I would impose my own and that can be quite distracting.

I think your final assessment is realistic.

Regards,

HG 34

Top Reply Reply Quote Quote Quick Reply Quick Reply Quick Quote Quick Quote
#46183 - 06/26/10 05:02 AM Re: Offers from "Publishers" [Re: Hunterguy]
pdabber Offline
stranger


Registered: 01/20/05
Posts: 12
I got esmail from one long ago asking permission to publish one of my stories in paper back. I said sure WTF. I didn't write it with the intention of selling it in the first place. I thought at least they had enough integrity to ask.

My only stipulation was that if they did use it I wanted them to send me a copy. they did mail me a package with three paper backs but my story wasn't in any of them. I moved shortly after and never heard from them again.

Top Reply Reply Quote Quote Quick Reply Quick Reply Quick Quote Quick Quote
#46283 - 06/30/10 03:29 PM Re: Offers from "Publishers" [Re: pdabber]
Jake Offline
addict


Registered: 02/27/01
Posts: 592
Loc: Northeastern US
That's really weird. I am currently working on a manuscript that would be my first published to paper novel, which I'm pretty excited about.
_________________________
Website: Jake's Wonderland
Twitter: JakeMarlowWrtr


Top Reply Reply Quote Quote Quick Reply Quick Reply Quick Quote Quick Quote
#46293 - 07/01/10 12:24 PM Re: Offers from "Publishers" [Re: Jake]
CharmBrights Offline
old hand


Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 879
Loc: Tirphil
 Originally Posted By: Jake
That's really weird. I am currently working on a manuscript that would be my first published to paper novel, which I'm pretty excited about.
Jake, I felt like that about my first book, but I do assure you that the day you deliver the manuscript absolutely final version to the publisher, you will find yourself wondering what people do when they are not writing a book.

It is exciting to see a copy of your book, but the real thrill is the first time someone asks you to autograph their copy.
_________________________
News of ALL my novels on charmbrights.webs.com/novels.htm.

Top Reply Reply Quote Quote Quick Reply Quick Reply Quick Quote Quick Quote
Page 1 of 2 12>

Quick Reply:
HTML is disabled
UBBCode is enabled

Image Verification. Type the 6 letters or numbers. Letters are not case-sensitive. Click the image to request a new one.


Moderator:  art 
Hop to: